The Weather is Changing. Again.

L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.
You’ve got more than money and sense, my friend,
You’ve got heart and you’re goin’ your own way

I love the fall. It is something I missed terribly while I lived in the tropics and I am glad to catch wisps of it swirling around what I think will be quite an Indian Summer in the City. I think every year that I must write about how I love fall. I never really know if I just love the transitory nature of the shoulder seasons or if it is fall itself, but either way, this time of the year always finds me in a really good mental space.

The fall signals shorter days, the smell of deciduous foliage, hopeful longing at fall fashions that will only slow cook you the minute you buy them due to our capricious weather, my birthday, the World Series (shame about those Giants. Yeah, okay, not really), a strange sense of new beginnings with the onset of a new school year whether you are in school or not, my birthday, football season, my birthday… and a palpable sense of calm that I attribute to the balance of the equinox – and the departure of the tourists.

This calm is something I always welcome after the mania of a summer, especially one as well spent as mine ended up being. Nothing stresses me out in the fall, even the things that should. It is just a time that I feel so relaxed that I often feel like a stranger in my own Type-A skin. It is a rather out-of-body sensation.

I woke up to foggy skies again today, and quiet streets on this Labor Day. The Burners are not yet back, the hipsters not yet up, the Church-y types doing what ever it is they do when it is not their own personal sabbath. It is quiet in the Mission. Sitting in bed with hot coffee and bossy calico cat (and clumsy dude-baby cat) I contemplated my day. Starting with thinking about what I wanted for my birthday.

I am pretty sure I will get it all.

L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.
What you don’t have now will come back again
You’ve got heart and you’re goin’ your own way

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in California, Life, Perception and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

