Just because, man

Well, tomorrow is Groundhog’s Day (not that anyone here really cares much…) and I am going to Queen Mary Hospital to have an operation. I was freaked out for a minute, but then I thought, hot damn… how many people can say they have had surgery in China? [Not sure that is a good thing, but there you have it.] I just hope it is nothing like the movie……….

I have a bunch of peeps at my house right now. Well, okay not a bunch but two friends, two cats and two parents (+ me) so it seems like a lot. And my house is not all that big…  But it is all good and we are having some pre-hospital fun like Scrabble tournaments and stupid movie marathons, plus I got a bunch of new books… [God, my dorkiness never ceases to impress even me.]

We were talking the other night about what we might do differently if we knew how much time we had left… you know, like, on earth, alive and all that…

Of course, the object of life is probably to always live like there is no tomorrow, but I wonder how many people really do this. It is easy enough to grab on to that philosophy when you are avoiding crap you don’t want to do…

“If I die tomorrow do I really care if  my laundry is washed/my homework is done/my responsibilities met?”

But in the end, there is a larger question… would you feel okay about your life… what you did or did not do, the things you said or did not say, the things you meant to do or not to do…..

If tomorrow was it… and I mean “IT” what would you want to make sure you did/said/thought today?

Trust me that I am not feeling all moral/mortal or even depressed… it was just an interesting concept… What memory of your life would you want to leave behind?

If I were gone tomorrow I would want people to know these things:

1) I really loved my job (I know that makes me a weirdo)
2) I meant it everytime I said “I miss you,” “I love you” and “I am proud of you,” but probably did not mean it when I said their opposites.
3) The world is big and we are not, and that is important to remember (even if I think that I am kind of a big deal)
4) I will loathe the Duke Bluedevils even in the afterlife
5) Being smart is worth all the ridicule you put up with to get there
6) The most unpleasant people in my life have taught me the most, but I still think they suck and that’s okay
7) Being brave does not mean being tough or spontaneous or smart or dumb, it means sticking with things until you find your way
8) Sagging was never a good look
9) I wish everyone in the world could have family and friends like I do
10) “Sometimes we live no particular way but our own…”

Anyhow, we are coming up on Chinese New Year [Golden Pig!] over here and things are shaping up for quite a good one so I got all thoughtful.

Now go do homework or something.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Friends, Life, Student MySpace. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

