Things I would tell my younger self…

Of all the things I could think of to tell my younger self, or perhaps warn my younger self about, I think the one thing I would say is this: YOUR MOM REALLY IS RIGHT.

Basically, anything I have to say to myself of years past, my mom did tell me. Of course, I didn’t listen to her then and I wouldn’t have listened to the ethereal older me either. Experience is not only the best teacher, in so many cases it is the ONLY teacher.

 Still, here are a few samplings of things-my-mother-told-me-that-would-have-made-my-life-easier-if-I-had-listened-to-them:

  • Whatever you choose to do be aware of how it will effect the choices you have available in the future (this said often to the surly high school student who believed she was far above homework, and in some cases, even attending school.)
  • You are beautiful and smart and that will impact how people treat you in very positive and negative ways. It is not about you.
  • Be gracious. Always. You will never be sorry you were.
  • Your body is yours and it is strong and powerful. Respect it and demand that same respect from anyone who is inclined to touch it.
  • You will feel better if you stop eating all that crap (not to mention the drinking…)
  • It really doesn’t matter what other people are doing/wearing/thinking… do what you want to do. 
  • What you think is the “best” thing or the “worst” thing are neither, and it will all eventually make sense.

Looking over that I am reminded that they are all still important things to remember and believe.

Amanda, 37, still thanking her mom in Hong Kong

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in 30 Voices, Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

