There are so many reasons this makes me laugh.

A student introduced this to me a few months back and at first I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to laugh. I worried for a minute that it might be offensive. But, oh man, it is so funny for so many reasons. I do not think it translates so well for people outside of Hong Kong though, because I shared it with some friends from the States and they were like, “Um, yeah. Okay…” I am not sure if they were thinking, like I had, at first that it was offensive, or if they just don’t think it is funny. Either way it still makes me crack up.

The kid who did it is an international student in HK and clearly has great English and Chinese, and not a bad Pakistani accent either. He is acutely aware of the lingusitic tendencies among Cantonese English speakers and perhaps for me it was especialy funny because I spend a lot of my days surrounded by this increasingly charming patois.

Anyhow, stay away from McDono, very danger.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Humor, Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There are so many reasons this makes me laugh.

  1. Not Goth says:

    lol I dont get it either. 😀

  2. Winguistic Vandal says:

    Aiya! Chiseen homemade “electric shadow” (movie). Anyhow, stay away from douse (those) lads. Werly (very, ie. the omnipresent adverb) queisy (crazy). Hath he not foolery cranked (gau gau jeng, gau yeh), silly (mo lei tau)!

    Just to celebrate dat (that) pridud (prided) patois 😀

    Sorry for the unsolicited scribble, the unceremonious solecism, and everyfing (everything) … i’m having some shy meaning (yau dee ng ho yi see, ie. feeling bad for being somewhat unseemly) 🙂

Leave a Reply

