Yoga and Anger.

I have just started a new phase in my (non) fitness existence. I have begun taking yoga classes. Since I moved to HK in 2005 I have not exercised. Seriously. That is amazingly crappy. I mean, it is nice to not lose time in my day doing unpleasant things like go to the gym surrounded by people that bring out my inner-Joan Rivers, but it was getting ridiculous and I am getting old and the combination is not going to be very attractive if it continues.

So, yoga.

First of all, yoga is deceptively hard. And secondly, my body no longer seems to do a lot of the things I KNOW it used to be able to do. For these reasons alone, I am pleased with the decision to do this thing. But also, yoga is a mental exercise for me as well, all this breathing and focus… it is supposed to ground me and clear my mental channels and such, calm me. THIS has got to be a good thing.

The older I get the more I am noticing my OCD tendencies, or rather, control-freakery that I am choosing to call OCD because it sounds better than just being a crazy bitch. I hear yoga will help with this.

Here is a list of things that are really pissing me off these days:

  • Leaving the shower curtain open
  • The counter in my kitchen and/or bathroom being a swamp
  • My carefully organized piles being shifted
  • The toilet seat is up
  • Sweaters on hangers creating a shoulder-stretch situation
  • Going to the refrigerator and finding that something I want to eat is gone
  • Shoes in the house
  • Unfinished “projects”
  • Wet towels
  • Shit-talking Lamma people
  • Flakiness
  • Leaving a gap in the curtains when they are closed
  • Irresponsibility
  • Uninformed ranting
  • Posturing and pretending
  • Progress reports for my students which no one reads and take for ever to complete
  • My electric bill

As you can see, this is a pretty petty list. Still, at the thought of these things I can actually feel the ire welling inside.

So, I am going to yoga this morning.

Update on anger management to follow.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Life, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Yoga and Anger.

  1. mochafueled says:

    I am afraid to leave a message (or wind up on your list). 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Hehe… that is why I am going to yoga… so as not to add more to the list.

    And as for the update, the yoga bliss lasted approximately 10 hours, so I think that is worth it. [There was a total regression at 10 hrs, 2 minutes… but I am a novice.]

    Of course, the best way to stay off the list is to, well, not do those things… 😉

  3. mochafueled says:

    Well today I have violated items #1,4, & 7… good thing I am where I am. Oh and when I took yoga last my teacher was amazed at how inflexible my body was/is… great stuff and much harder that it looks. Next month I start a job in Africa so will see even if there are shower curtains or toilet seats, etc… I hope you extend your bliss as you go along… cheers.

  4. yogaguide says:

    From one crazy bitch to another, it really helps me. It is difficult, but if it wasn’t I personally wouldn’t be interested. Here’s to regular bliss infusions!

  5. Myschel says:

    OMG! I so love Yoga!

  6. Amanda says:

    A further update…
    This morning I simply wiped off the offending standing water on the bathroom sink and opened the curtains so as to defeat the gap, both without comment (well, until now.)

    Such progress.
    Such zen.
    I better pick a class for today.

  7. not Goth says:

    nice job – I am glad its working out for you. Hmm maybe this is what I need to do.

  8. aziemniak says:

    Yoga is goooood.

  9. I have been thinking of trying Yoga, I think you convinced me.

Leave a Reply

