I love LA. Among other things.

I have not been writing much lately.
I am feeling quite bogged down… by a nice variety of things.

I have this blog on Robbie Williams and space aliens that I have been trying to finish for weeks. Should be a piece of cake being as I find both the subjects strangely fascinating, particularly their respective holds over substantial numbers of people. Have not been able to do it.

CANNOT. FOCUS.

But, I walked outside today to get some lunch after a morning spent in a busy office and it smelled like LA. The air had that tangible, almost chewy feel that I remember so well about the LA of my childhood summers. It always seemed so humid there compared to Sonoma County. And warmer. And then there was that smell.

Warm.
Wet.
Dirty, but not in that third-world way, more like a fast food kind of way… somehow still yummy in spite of the yuckiness.
Semi-industrial but with undertones of an embraceable environment… the ocean, hot pavement, sickly-sweet flowers, sweat.

it smelled like that out in Causeway Bay today and it made me think about how much I love LA. How much the Valley is a part of my internal wiring. How grateful I am for all those summers spent with my family; swimming, eating melty ice-cream, trying to figure out what the tickle in the back of my throat was (smog), smiling.

I love LA.

Darling be home soon….
…for the great relief of having you to talk to…

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Family, Home, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love LA. Among other things.

  1. notgoth says:

    ever since I have read this post I can be found occasionally having a good sniff of LA to see if it smells like you say. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Smells and Boys. Sometimes Smelly Boys. « No, THIS is how you do it…

Leave a Reply

