Rain.

Apparently it was the wettest June on record in Hong Kong.

53 inches of rain fell in a month that saw only 5 days without precipitation.

I am wondering if anyone (outside of Portland, Oregon) knows what it is like to walk around an entire city of people suffering from S.A.D. And even you Portland types don’t know what it is like until you are walking amongst 8 million other disaffected individuals, who ALL wield angry, huge umbrellas at eye-gouging level. [Portland is actually incorrectly credited with being the city with the highest suicide rate, it is actually Alaska, where of course, it is dark for six months of the year. As a semi-side note, Nevada comes in second… as if there needed to be another reason I had to leave….]

But, as usual, I digress. Back to the Rain.

On one day (June 7 to be specific) we had 160mm of rain fall between 8:00 and 9:00 am. That is 6.25 INCHES of rain in one hour. Having a penchant for the dramatic I find that kind of information amazing.

As the rain pounded on, so did life in the Kong. Wet, dreary, heavy, damp, musty, sloggy life. And it got a bit depressing, frankly. But then came July. And sun. And birds. And all that other stuff of Walt Disney legend. And I wondered, like the feeling you get after having to pee for so long and finally getting the chance to go, would I enjoy my hot, sweaty summer that much more for having lived through the June gloom?

I think it is going to be a fabulous summer and I am ready.

[as a side note, the cloud bursts are back today, which is what I get for procrastinating on writing for so long… ]

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rain.

  1. isso says:

    my hometown of syracuse, ny probably comes close in the “gloom on record” department. according to the national weather service the city averages 115 inches of snow annually- http://www.erh.noaa.gov/er/buf/lakeffect/snowseason.html

    anyhow, snow might be fun to a vacationing southerner or a ski enthusiast with nothing better to do; but to battle the sludge and salt on a daily basis and see the mounds of high-piled chocolate-brown ice left by a winter’s worth of ploughing WELL into May as a seemingly everlasting reminder of the months of overcast skies where many people totally forget what the sun looks and feels like… it all has the ability to kill the spirit in much the same way as the soaking you’ve received. so yeah, i certainly know how HKG must collectively feel!

  2. notgoth says:

    One of the main reasons I left England was the rain – living and traveling in such close proximity to damp, miserable, soggy 8m Londoners all with S.A.D and no tumble dryers was too much for me.

    I imagine the rain in HK to be tropical – warm at least.

    Great photo by the way.

  3. Amanda says:

    Thx… wish it was my photo… someone’s stock image I am afraid!

    It is warm so we have that going for us… but I don’t know, something about living in a steam room is just a little too… funky. No one has dryers here either. Laundry has become a real slog.

Leave a Reply

