Has Perez Hilton Become Relevant?

I am not sure how I feel about this, but there is a little bit of vindication. First of all, I do regularly visit Perez’s site. I used to love it, but in the last year or so I have become a bit disenfranchised… it clearly caters to a different audience (‘tween star gossip leads the way) and I am not interested in all the Perez-promoting, I found him much more interesting as a reluctantly famous bitch than an overtly attention seeking one. [I think What Would Tyler Durden Do? is a much more clever catch-all of insults and they are done without the little white graffiti additions.] Secondly, I have to admit with a good dose of humility (humiliation?) that I have actually learned things from the Hilton site, like interesting newsworthy things that I might not have otherwise as I live in Asia and do not get the same kind of American news coverage. Lightweight or not [his material, not his physique… clearly not in the lightweight division], he does keep on certain issues, like gay rights and political mis-steps to do with the election.

The other day he had McCain up there as his Quote of the Day, in which McCain said:

“I think that we’ve proven that both parents are important in the success of a family so, no, I don’t believe in gay adoption.”

I am not going to get into the whole redundant argument that even someone with my mathematical abilities can see that gay parentS = 2, just like parentS = 2. Not the point here, or too obvious for words.

The point here is that Perez Hilton was picked up in the Huffington Post. Yes, the Huffington Post, which I consider to be legitimate news. The article is interesting and I think brings up an important point: regardless of your opinion of relevance, intelligence or malevolence, the tabloid readers are voting. And it might just make a difference.

Our ‘Founding Fathers’ (the ones I like the best in particular) held fast to the elitist notion that not everyone should be allowed to vote, because basically not everyone was smart enough to vote*. True or not, we’ve all got the go ahead now, and people like Perez Hilton just might be the most effective at getting out the voters through increasing the interest and s-p-e-l-l-i-n-g out the importance.

And by the way, the Founding Fathers were all men, so doesn’t that make them the original Same-Sex-Parents?

* My Australian friends who live under mandatory voting law say it sucks because it encourages bad election results as people who don’t care vote randomly, or worse contentiously. Maybe they need a little Perez down under.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Has Perez Hilton Become Relevant?

  1. cloaknbadger says:

    Hopefully the next thing Perez sez is “Are my 15 minutes really up already?” haha.

  2. isso says:

    this is bothersome on a few levels. when mainstream news outlets spend so much time and energy on non-crucial stories that one needs to turn to a blog like Perez Hilton in order to get something substantial like Dubya 3’s latest, it shows that something’s seriously wrong.

    The “Original Same-Sex Parents™” is good though. Please don’t sue me for stealing it.

    And.. Australia as you well know has an even more lopsided media scene than we have “back home”. I don’t see how Perez, despite all the celeb worship and outing (neither of which i can tolerate too well) could be any worse than Murdoch’s monopoly and the insane amount of reality television they’re subjected to.

  3. cloaknbadger says:

    Thanks for checking my page out. I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read of yours so I added ya to my super exclusive blogroll. Actually it’s not that exclusive…but the VIP section gets a bag of tiny, impractical bars of soap.

Leave a Reply

