Hong Kong Nights… Like a Monet.

I love live music.

Last night I got to see one of my friends’ bands play – and I will have you know they are the best country and western band in Hong Kong – and it was great fun. They were followed by a very Dick Dale-esque group, El Destroyo, also local, and also very cool.

In general, I am loathe to hear, let alone use, the word “fusion.” I find it annoying on pretty much every level. But I am not sure how else to describe this scene… except maybe in the erudite words of Cher Horowitz:

“…a full-on Monet. It’s like a painting, see? From far away, it’s OK, but up close, it’s a big old mess.”

Picture this…

A tiny venue in Wan Chai, a crazy mix of business men, hippies, scensters, tourists, teachers, political activists, students and barflies, a country an western band led by a Glaswegian covering Johnny Cash and U2, and too much Tsing Tao.

It was a total Monet.

And after the sampan ride home… I drunk dialed my mom at 2 a.m.

Maybe I am the Monet.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Friends, Life, Music, Silliness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hong Kong Nights… Like a Monet.

  1. aziemniak says:

    I was always so happy when my mom seemed to ENJOY the drunk dialing conversations. You know, because I’m really funny!! Hasn’t happened for a while…

Leave a Reply

