Considering the Polish Revolution of 1980-81.

You probably don’t consider the extent to which the Roman Catholic Church was responsible for the Polish Revolution in 1908 very often, but I am in the middle of helping someone revise more than 5,000 words on the subject.

And I am enjoying it.

Seriously.

I love my job… how cool is that?

I am also reading about how the bid-rent theory does not apply in Hong Kong, the influence of Japanese art in Impressionism (known as Japonisme), the degree to which Hitler was a product of his time versus his personality, the long term intellectual effects of the Cultural Revolution in China and more college essays than I can count…. “A significant event….” “A setback….” “Page 217 of your 300 page autobiography….” “Describe the world you come from…” “Why does Harvard/Yale/Penn/Michigan/NYU/Cal/UCLA/Stanford/MIT/Columbia/Princeton need you….”

It is some fascinating stuff and I am not being facetious (purposefully amusing) or trying to sound grandiloquent (speaking in a pompous manner) or suggesting I have unparalleled acumen (quickness of intellectual insight) or unusual aplomb (great confidence and poise).

These kids are getting ready to get out there and start living in some of the most uncertain times and I am watching with baited breath and my usual annoying optimism. It sure takes me back to a happy place.

But not as happy as the one I am in now.

And if you are curious, I think I have been convinced that the Church was pretty damn important in the Polish Revolution as the served as the cultural and national epicenter for a nation of disgruntled Poles.

After all, the Pope was Polish.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Education, Silliness, The Future, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

