“Jane, you ignorant slut.”

The first time I ever saw Saturday Night Live I was eight years old. I was sitting on the floor in the apartment of my aunt Nancy’s friend… Ira? I think it was Ira. And we were in New York. We were en route to Europe after taking Amtrak across the US from LA to NYC. I had just turned eight and I was going to miss a month of school. And I was up late watching a show that made no sense to me… except for the Bees. I loved the Bees.

Life was good. Except for it being 1978 and everyone being freaked out about everything. So imagine my surprise to see grown-ups cracking up at the news. Hmmmm.

Along with an introduction to fearless, independent, international travel my aunt instilled in me (at a very young age) a deep appreciation for fake news [fast forward to 1999 and my complete obsession with Jon Stewart…] Weekend Update with Jane Curtin and Dan Akroyd may have been some of the best TV ever. Of course, Chevy Chase rocked that shit too, but I had to meet him in the reruns.

IN the spirit of Weekend Update, here is why I didn’t write the past few days:

“Here now, the news:”

*Friday was a decent day… uneventful and moved along nicely. I meant to blog but did not. I felt happy all day for having cast my vote in the 2008 presidential election the night before.

*Saturday seemed really long, but that had a lot to do with being a bit tired and knowing I was going out after work, was I excited? Not sure, but certainly managed to make a statement (or fifty) by the night’s end. There are several chapters of the evening missing, but I am assured it was all good fun…

*Sunday morning was very interesting as a continuation of Saturday, but then was tempered by a morning spent in the salon with my fabulous aesthetician, Deepa, and the monthly meeting of my book group. where we discussed the book Infidel.

*Monday was manic but I got my dress for Adele and Chris’ wedding and so I feel very accomplished.

*Now Tuesday… and I am going to try to get back on the daily writing track. For instance this blog could have been very interesting connecting my early childhood exposure to cool things with my later adventures in life with cool things. Like for instance my living abroad and being a fiercely independent traveler.  And of course my fixation with fake news (and the belief that it is actually far more reliable than the “real” news.) I could also have talked about hilarious indiscretions and questionable choices which would have made for a very humorous, er no… humiliating blog. Wow… the potential is amazing.

More on all of that later.

Looking back on that trip in the fall of 1978, I say thank you Aunt Nancy… because you know what? All the things you guys wished for me… I got ’em.

“That’s the news. Goodnight, and have a pleasant tomorrow.”

“Dan, you arrogant bastard.”

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Jane, you ignorant slut.”

  1. Pingback: Coming full circle… « No, THIS is how you do it…

  2. Pingback: News or Entertainment…Maybe Both? « Professor Mo media blog

Leave a Reply

