Resolving not to be so resolute.

edimg_1642

And so it is 2009.

Generally I find myself compelled to take inventory at the termination of one calendar year and set out an agenda for the next. Truthfully, I have always found it somehow therapeutic. This year I somehow did not feel the compulsion. I have no idea what this means in the larger picture, if anything. I still woke up on the first of January feeling like things were new. I can’t really put my finger on why a seemingly arbitrary date can have such a hold on us, but then again, I treat my birthday like a public holiday, so maybe I can. Funny enough, the Chinese are really rather non-plussed by the whole December 31st thing. Of course they are savng up for the big lunar new year that will fall at the end of January this year. You see what I mean? Arbitrary.

Still, I found myself reeling through the year end ruminations of friends and strangers alike… on the internet, evesdropping as I walked through the village on the island in the South China Sea that I call home or on the street outside Bottega Venetta or in the grocery store,¬† through Facebook status updates, personal emails, phone calls. And so of course, like the compulsion I have to complete inane personal surveys, I suddenly felt like I should somehow formally acknowledge the year that has passed.

Everyone likes a good eugoogooly.

In no logical order, or at least not one that anyone else would understand, I give you my Top X of 2008:

  • I became a yoga convert. Not only has this led to the discovery of my oblique abdominal muscles and amazing triceps, it has given me a new way to calm the noise in my head, which in Hong Kong can be deafening.
  • I reestablished my financial prowess and realized that I am not in fear of this impending economic apocalypse.
  • I got a promotion at my job… at what cost… that is yet to be determined. But it did lead to me signing a much more substantial contract than I had anticipated. This is good and bad. I do miss California and all it holds tremendously.
  • I visited Angkor Wat, the Great Wall, the terracotta warriors in Xi’an and Shanghai.
  • I made fun of and totally LOVED my 20 Year High School reunion. Who knew? Still making fun though because that is how I roll.
  • I made amends with two of the people on my list of five that I hope to before I cannot.
  • I finally took the steps I needed to really, REALLY be single… in mind, body and home rather than just one of those realms as I have always seemed to do in the past.
  • Made some very questionable decisions as I continued to chase the life I am supposed to want. Hopefully I will let that go a bit more this year, eh?
  • I VOTED FOR BARACK OBAMA.
  • Saw two of my favorite people get married – to each other – Awesome.
  • Celebrated my 38th birthday for nearly an entire month.
  • Welcomed family members to Hong Kong, which certainly looks like it will be interesting.
  • Met some very cool people.
  • Started consciously studying and practicing Spanish again because I am going home someday.
  • Started buying shoes again.
  • Visited my grandma.
  • Accepted that I will never like washing dishes or folding laundry, and that is OK. And got a great helper to balance it out.

As 2009 commenced I felt good, refreshed even, which is amazing as I was ringing in the New Year until 5 am with some very good friends, while still missing some others. I woke up to beautiful sunny skies and a freakishly sunny demeanor.

I sat in the sun and had some coffee and decided that this year I am going to really work on… fun stuff…

  1. Monday night tango
  2. Preparing a research proposal
  3. Saying no at the office
  4. Digital photography class
  5. Wine tasting class
  6. Vietnam for Chinese New Year
  7. Kunming, Lijiang Shangri La for spring holiday
  8. Bali for the birthday
  9. Home for… summer?
  10. Photo book

And if this all coincides with the resolutions I am supposed to make, all the better.

It’s all gonna fall into place. I can tell.

img_4065

Looking out my front door on New Year's Day 2009, 5pm.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resolving not to be so resolute.

  1. tracthom says:

    Happy New Year Aim.
    I think it’s going to be a great one for both of us.

  2. Will says:

    That picture is soooo Breakfast at Tiffany”s.

  3. mochafueled says:

    Very nice list, probably done half of the same. As I hit 40 this year I finally did not feel compelled to make a list but more just count my blessings from the previous year. I did spend new years with 3 guy friends (no girls around) in a couple of good Ethiopian bars reviewing all the drama of 2008; much better than lists. And as a fellow Californian I too miss my Bay Area (and friends) at times. Not blogging much myself (see my blog for reasons).

  4. driss says:

    digital photography class? quite in-ter-es-ting.

Leave a Reply

