Kung Hei Fat Choi!

Well, I meant to post this when I wrote it before I headed to Vietnam for the Lunar New Year (Tet in Vietnam)… but I didn’t.  Anyhow… lots of people were asking me what the bigtime prognosticators were saying about the Year of the Ox and I have come to the conclusion that the fortune tellers all read the same papers that we do because they are all saying it is going to be a pretty harsh year.

Of course, all one has to really do is keep looking until you find a horoscope you like if you are unhappy with that prediction. At this point it is a fairly safe bet to say things are going to be tough this year… Unemployment is at all time highs, people are more angsty than ever and change is in the air… and no matter what people say, they moslty all seem to be a bit reticent when it comes to change.

Almost everyone of my horoscopes has mentioned that I will be dealing with gossip this year… like, I will be the subject of a lot of crap. I am hoping that this will not amount to my 15 minutes of fame in the long run and I will try to ignore it… You know, save the drama for you mama. [That’s how I roll.] Like Calvin once told Hobbes, “You know, things don’t bother you if you don’t think about them…’ To which Hobbes replied, isn’t that a pretty silly and irresponsible way to live?” And Calvin said: “What a pretty afternoon!”

I do like Chinese astrology though… I am a Dog. Yeah, yeah. Funny. Here is what they say about Dogs, in general:  Honest, intelligent, straightforward, loyal, sense of justice and fair play, attractive, amicable, unpretentious, sociable, open-minded, idealistic, moralistic, practical, affectionate, dogged. Can be cynical, lazy, cold, judgmental, pessimistic, worrier, stubborn, quarrelsome.

Sounds about right.

This year things seem to indicate that I am going to work hard, and not necessarly be happy with that or the rewards of it, stay single, be generally healthy and get gossiped about. Looking at that from the ‘glass is half full’ standpoint I would say, at least I have a job and am able to make money… I enjoy my own company… and if I have learned anything from Perez Hilton it is that any attention is good attention, right?

For those of you wondering how it might be for you this year, this is not a bad starting point.I am feeling like it has been a pretty auspicious start and thoroughly enjoyed myself bringing in the New Year in Vietnam.. I even scored some lai see (lucky money – and in Vietnam that is Dong. Sweet.) And now the decorations are coming down and things are settling back into the normal groove here in Hong Kong. So, here is wishing you lots of satisfaction and general pleasantness for 2009.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in China, Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

