Sometimes it’s the journey not the destination.

There are no taxis where I live.

There are no escalators.

There are no buses, trains, planes or automobiles.

Because of this I walk home.

A lot.

This is what my walk looks like through the eyes of my iPhone.

Sometimes I start here. This is Lamma parking on the main pier.

Sometimes I start here. This is Lamma parking on the main pier.

A lot of the walk looks like this.

A lot of the walk looks like this.

I see a lot of this. It is China after all.

I see a lot of this. It is China after all.

I like to pause when I pass by here... most of the time.

I like to pause when I pass by here... most of the time.

These rustle. Could be snakes, I guess.

These rustle. Could be snakes, I guess.

From here it is all down hill. Only literally.

From here it is all down hill. Only literally.

When I see this I know I am getting close.

When I see this I know I am getting close.

All in all, we're just...

All in all, we're just...

Then I end up here. So the destination is pretty alright.

Then I end up here. So the destination is pretty alright.

I have a lot more photos of this walk that are actually substantially better. [But I liked the consistency of using only iPhone photos, and the iPhone camera is mediocre at best. (Not that I care because it is the coolest gadget I have ever had… and does lomo.)] I think it is about a mile and a half. It is much quicker to go from my house to the village because it is more downhill, but it’s not so bad coming back these days because the weather hasn’t crushed us yet. I did walk home through one of the typhoons last summer… that was pretty mad.

Anyhow, this is a moment or 15 in a day in the life of me on Lamma.

That is all.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Home, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes it’s the journey not the destination.

  1. svitty says:

    wow
    looks awesome
    some photos reminded me of Varkala, India…
    you sure live in the great place, Amanda!

Leave a Reply

