Five For Friday. But it’s Sunday. Oh Well.

Here is another fun way to spend some time on the internet. The website is called the friday five and the concept is pretty straight forward: five questions from some kind of category (or not) posted on a Friday, to which people post responses on their own blog and link to t.f.f. Obviously, right up my alley. Consider yourself lucky that I have thus far exercised restraint in publishing them all.

The following questions are from August 2005, the Friday I arrived in Hong Kong. The category is Hodgepodge.  For the record, I hate that word, but I am going to do the questions anyhow.

1. List five people and a song that reminds you of them or that you think best describes them (list the person’s name, the song title, and the song’s artist).

Anna: Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots – The Flaming Lips [reminds & describes]
Adele: Dancing with Myself – Billy Idol [describes more than reminds…]
Mara: You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere – The Rave Ups/Bob Dylan [reminds more than describes…]
Chris T: Kung Fu Fighting – Carl Douglas [reminds & describes, obviously.]
Mom: You Can’t Always Get What You Want – The Rolling Stones [reminds & describes &  true]

2. What would your life’s soundtrack be?

I already did a blog about this – sort of. My life soundtrack would be like the best movie soundtracks (High Fidelity, Grosse Pointe Blank, Y Tu Mama Tambien, Stranger than Fiction all come to mind.) I would like it a little loud, a little eclectic, and in the end… rock steady…

If I were to pick some records that work for me right now?


3. Which would you prefer: to live somewhere that is hot or to live somewhere that is cold year-round? Why?

HOT HOT HOT: Because sunshine makes me smile and I look really good when I am tan.

4. Suppose you had twins, a boy and a girl. What names would you give and why?

Probably not Norman and Matilda. I like the name Devin. It has unisex appeal, though not in the “Pat” way, but I prefer it for boys. I like Declan also. I like the name Grace and unual flower names and names that start with A for girls. As long as it is not anything like the Western names that Chinese people give their kids, I’m cool. [Amen, Radish, YoYo, Handsome, Banana, Juicy, Taffy, Shiny, Salmon – all names I have personally come across. I know someone who knows a lady named Twista. Combine that with one of the most common Canto surnames (Ho) and have a giggle.] Truly though, contemplating this sort of thing makes me feel pretty silly.

5. What’s a quote/lyric that describes you right now?

“Walk tall, kick ass, learn to speak Arabic, love music and never forget you come from a long line of truth seekers, lovers and warriors.” ~Hunter S. Thompson

&

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Silliness, Things I Wish I Would Have Thought Of and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

