The West Coast.

Today I go home. This is the second time in basically a month that I have flown across the world for the privilege of being on the West Coast – and all of the attendant opportunities that may or may not appear. There is no place in the world I like better than the California Coast – from top to bottom, one of the most significant geographic tapestries on Earth. I am proud to call it my home.

In 1851, John L. Soule said:

“Go west, young man, and grow up with the country.”

I think the time has come again where this sentiment means a lot more than meets the eye on first impressions. These are uncertain days, and as a very wise friends of mine says, things are shifting. And she is, of course, correct. And in times of great shifts, a great many of us head West. [The irony is not lost on me that I must go East to go West.] Soule was onto something big. The mythology of the West is far deeper than I can get into here today, as I look at a pile of laundry not quite dry that will soon need to shoved into my suitcase and greedily drink my coffee in hopes that it will help me to remember: what to bring – electronics and camera equipment, what to leave – expectations… So many people I know headed out this week… the variety of Europe, the mountains of India, the legacy of Peru… each destination with some element of Soule’s West. I am inspired by these people, their ideas and their movement.

Today I go home. And some day I may grow up. For now…

I miss you
I’m goin back home to the west coast
I wish you woulda put yourself in my suitcase
I love you
Standin all alone in a black coat
I miss you
I’m goin back home to the west coast….

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The West Coast.

  1. driss says:

    Welcome back, Amanda… the West Coast misses you as well.

  2. Anna says:

    you belong here.

Leave a Reply

