Why so serious?

Yesterday was Establishment Day in the S.A.R. Not nearly the hullabaloo it was in 1997 when they celebrated 10 years since the former colony was returned to China from the UK, but a public holiday none the less (I was disappointed that they did not take the opportunity to have fireworks… or if they did I missed them so they must have sucked.) The more relevant part of this story, at least for me, is that I did not have to work. This meant that I got to hang out at home on a truly gorgeous summer day and sip coffee and listen to music and hang out in the garden and take photos and generally do whatever I felt like. This may be the definition of true luxury when life can be so serious. I spent my morning doing anything that I felt like doing. I chilled with my cats. I walked down to the beach. I drank a lot of really good, strong, Indonesian coffee. I downloaded a bunch of new (to me) music. I played with my camera. I read. I colored. For realz.

IMG_3135 IMG_3158h IMG_3189

And I thought, “Damn, why is it so easy for everything to seem so serious?”

I took the ferry into town in the late afternoon and went to yoga with my cousin. I love the yogis at my yoga studio and I know that should I leave Hong Kong finding such a plethora of authentic (Indian) yogis will be difficult.


After yoga, I touched base with my friend Rob who had just done a quick round trip to Shanghai and had some time to play before he flew out to Bombay [okay, okay, Mumbai.] We met up and were faced with what is always the most perplexing conundrum in Hong Kong – where to eat.  Thai? Italian? Vietnamese? Indonesian? Malaysian? Dai pai dong? “Fusion”? Shanghainese? A lovely dilemma. We opted for one of our favorites – Nga Trang. Perfect for a hot summer evening – cool food, lots of lemongrass and Saigon Export lager.  We talked about life – our issues, our stories, our dramas… and they suddenly all seemed pretty manageable.  Nothing is that serious. It just is what it is.


I caught the 8:30 ferry back to Lamma and stood outside on the back deck to watch the Hong Kong skyline go by. I looked up at IFC against the night sky and remembered when they were filming Batman Returns here. And I of course thought of the epic performance by Ledger in the film. Standing on a boat headed back to the island I currently call home, listening to good music… I thought, for sure… “Why so serious, la?”

IMG_3216blog
Getting off the ferry I bumped into a friend and we decided to stop in the Island Bar and have a beer since it was such a nice night. Cold, Asian-named, yet German-brewed, lager and a balmy night at an open air bar.  On saying our good-nights I headed over the hill through the jungle to my house that over looks the Lamma Channel of the South China Sea. This was a holiday well spent and considering it all, I thought, indeed…

…why so serious?

joker-crashes-mob-meeting

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in China, Friends, Holidays, Hong Kong, Life, Perception and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why so serious?

  1. driss says:

    Once again, I just ask that you consider placing larger versions of what your eyes tell your camera to produce someplace online.

  2. carol barickman says:

    perfect day well spent and recorded. you rock and so do your photographs. hi to F.B. love m

Leave a Reply

