Big things happen on Fridays… If you’re crafty.

It is not Friday in Hong Kong right now. It is Saturday morning. And I am at work, which is a redundant statement, as I have already mentioned I am in Hong Kong. Fridays however, have gotten my attention. Big Time.

So, you already know I am a fan of the friday five (lists and questions and memes oh my!) And you are also aware that I pledged my loyalty to Twitter several months ago. And as such, I have been intrigued by Twitter’s #followfriday concept. As a trending topic, which = code for popular inane subjects to randomly comments on (or not so inane I must say before the #iranelection people freak out and kill me for being disrespectful,) #followfriday is a means for people to spread the word about people on Twitter and encourage people to, well, follow said personas, obviously.

I have not really #followfriday’ed anyone. But then, yesterday I saw that  San Diego Street Scene, in conjunction with #followfriday, is doing free ticket Friday for the show at the end of August. Because the Beastie Boys were confirmed to play at Street Scene this year (news I got via Twitter WAY before friends at home got it in the more conventional method) @Street_Scene said, #followfriday @Street_Scene with your favorite Beastie Boys lyric for a chance to win free tickets. I was totally down. And following suit (‘she gets around/she’s always down’) I went with the proverbial She’s Crafty: “The girl is crafty like ice is cold!”

Oh, and by the way?

I fucking won. Yeessssssssssss!!!

“Now I like nothing better than a pretty girl smile
And I haven’t seen a smile that pretty in a while…”

So… In honor of this clearly epic day, I am going to present some people who you should follow, based solely on my opinion of course, so do with the suggestions as you like.

John Cusack = the complete package.

John Cusack = the complete package.

Tim Armstrong = Hot Rock and Roller

Tim Armstrong = Hot Rock and Roller for today

Benicio del Toro: Simply SMOKIN'

Benicio del Toro = Simply SMOKIN'

Bertrand Russell = Big daddy of the coolest paradox

Bertrand Russell = Big daddy of the coolest paradox

HST = The Shit. Pure and Simple.

HST = The Shit. Pure and Simple.

Maybe I will post the chicks next (fake) Friday, ie: Hong Kong Saturday. It could be a whole new kind of tradition. Oh, and by the way? John Cusack sent me a direct reply on Twitter today as well. Fuck yeah!

“The girl is crafty like ice is cold!
The girl is crafty – she knows all the moves
I started playing records – she knew all the groo-ooves

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Home, Life, Lists, Movies, Music, Silliness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big things happen on Fridays… If you’re crafty.

  1. driss says:

    Further proof that Friday lasts as long as you need it to. Glad to see you back to your normal picture-caption-inspiring smile-ism…

Leave a Reply

