Damn… it is August already?!

statue02
Yesterday, one of my students noted with curiosity that the meaning of august is grand or venerable or awesome or inspiring awe. As we are focusing a lot on etymology and lexicology as a way to maximize vocabulary enhancement I mentioned the whole Caesar Augustus connection. “I guess that means it’ll be a good month then, right?”

Well, Chris, we can hope so.

Either that or it is going to be as brutal as Octavian raining down vengeance on those who killed his uncle. But, so far, so good, I am not sure I would say it has been an augury of august proportions, but we are only twelve hours into it so I will give it some time.

In general August (the month) should signify a return to normal… like back to school, the end of the summer, that sort of thing. For me, in the upside down world of Hong Kong, August means the exact opposite. It means a break. For this – regardless of anything else, I am grateful.

In dreams, it’s a one-way trip to devotion
A streaming jet to the ocean
It’s the break you’ve been searching for
Read it, a joyous letter finds a troubled one
A big perspective on what you want
But what you want’s not good enough, for me
In dreams, I tried to guide you to the light
But all you want to do is fight
You can watch me run away
It’s easy, it could have been so simple
But then you bit my head off
And now I’m taking time off, for me
In dreams, I sing the way I want to sing
I pick the lines in everything
But it’s still the same
Tell me, is this the way it has to be
The melody’s inside of me
It’s been there all this time.

~Absinthe Blind, The Break (it’s been there all this time)

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

