Back in the USA, Pt. 1: Business Class to Street Scene

I would say that being overly caught up in auspicious symbolism is probably not a really effective way to go through life. However, I am going to roll with it for right now.

A business class upgrade got me home in style – and I am still not sure why I got it, but like they say: Why ask why? I arrived in San Francisco under the clearest blue skies, well rested and well fed. It was awesome and I swear the weather in California just taunts me with perfection every time I come home… But there was not a lot of time for dawdling in SF as I was headed to SD and so just had the chance to stroll through the airport and admire the blue skies and hot guys. San Diego was/has been/is equally beautiful. Hot, clear, delightful.

In spite of having tons of stuff to do, I mostly didn’t do it in San Diego and played instead: morning coffee at the Pannikin, walks on Neptune, and, oh yeah, Street Scene and the Hard Rock Hotel downtown. Niiiiiiiiiiiiiice. So, I won tickets to Street Scene this year on Twitter, yeah, go ahead and mock it – I won – and so the decision was made to get a room at the Hard Rock and just stay in San Diego rather than commuting back up to the North County. Good call. This is a concert that often gets mixed reviews, but I was psyched even though it meant forgoing Outsidelands in SF. The line-ups were actually pretty similar, and since the Beasties had to cancel on both shows, it was sort of a wash. I was thinking that Saturday might be the bigger night, but actually, I think I liked Friday better… either way, I saw a bunch of bands I love, saw some new ones I now love, and hung out with some people that I love. That’s a whole lotta love.

Check it out:

SS1

Ian1 A1 Anna2

TS1

Oberst

Holy F

mm

SDs finest

bep

A&!3

Fulano

Zee1

LC

Sign1 SSSun Airman

Flamer Flame

GR

1 A&A2 2

Chuck Ds Cousin

tc

The show was really awesome (you know me, I think hyperbole is, like, the best thing ever.) Some weekend highlights?

  • Multiple midgets in the hotel, partying like rock stars
  • Trombone Shorty and Orleans Avenue
  • Holy Fuck
  • “What does a $9 margarita do for me?” –ooohhhhh… I see.
  • Conor Oberst
  • Cake
  • The Black Eyed Peas – btw, Fergie? So NOT fat.
  • Photos with cops (strange, standard operating procedure. Don’t ask. But it has proved helpful on occasion.)
  • Bo-ho-ho
  • Re-hymenation project
  • Chicken gyros
  • In the elevator with Jaime Luis Gomez and his fly jacket before he headed up to Outsidelands
  • Drunk lawyers
  • Real ranch dressing
  • Pool skanks & a blended Bloody Mary – wtf?
  • “When I tell a fat guy I can’t go to dinner with him don’t say I’m doing something else – I just want some Kobe beef!”
  • Zee Avi
  • Los Campesinos
  • Seeing my former students all grown up… Hey Ben – you are famous now!
  • Of Montreal
  • The wooly headed Blue Lagoon Christopher Atkins guy
  • “I am totally dressing as Flamer Flame for Christmas this year!”
  • Whatever, we were hanging with Chuck D’s cousin
  • Ozomatli
  • Being totally relieved that the Silversun Pickups were NOT the Dead Weather
  • Theivery Corporation
  • M.I.A.’s legs
  • Meat sticks & Big Gulps
  • “Ian saw the most bands of anyone – I was just bouncing around like a little rabbit – bounce, bounce bounce…”

There were some seriously GREAT bands there, and if you are not familiar with the ones I listed up there, you should check them out. I have lots more thoughts on the whole thing… but for now, a list of annoying private jokes and strange references are going to have to suffice.

It has been an auspicious beginning, to be sure.

beacons exit

beacons sun

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home, Music, Silliness, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in the USA, Pt. 1: Business Class to Street Scene

  1. driss says:

    1) we have beaches, you have Beaches.
    2) live shit = unmatchable.
    3) the McColls should be indicted for aiding and abetting.
    4) Flamer Flame? Haha… you have just made my morning!
    4½) the smile says it all.

    • Amanda says:

      1) *smiles*
      2) Agreed.
      3) Ha. And she says I am a bad influence.
      4) That was all Anna… However, I would like to be at that Christmass dinner.
      4.5) Totally.

Leave a Reply

