The “Best” Movies Of a Decade…

I love movies and I love lists, so how great is this? I have been mulling over this thing for about a month, doing the things that list obsessives do, like counting how many movies on this list I have seen, want to see, would never see, etcetera. Of course also thinking about movies that should have made the list or maybe should not have.

Some highlights:

  • In the Loop
  • Me You and Everyone We Know
  • Memento
  • Anchorman
  • Shaun of the Dead
  • Y Tu Mama Tambien
  • Eternal Sunshine
  • Team America [#5!]

Some WTFs:

  • Knocked Up
  • Minority Report
  • United 93

Some “Really? Serious?”

  • School of Rock
  • 28 Days Later
  • Borat
  • The Bourne(s)

This list was supposed to be the best 100 movies of the decade, so not of all time, therefore when I started thinking of movies I thought should definitely have been on there it was a little more challenging… Not to mention I have yet to see the majority of “Just Released” movies (though I bought them all in Vietnam totally legally I am sure.)

Some I thought should have gotten a nod include the following (and I fought hard from including Tropic Thunder…):

  • Almost Famous or High Fidelity
  • Chocolat
  • Snatch
  • Motorcycle Diaries
  • Big Fish
  • Kill Bill
  • Iron Man

Just sayin’.

{Feel free to contribute, I am looking for the top recommendations form the last two years, my veritable movie blackout.}

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Lists, Movies, Perception and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

