Coming full circle…

I am mid-thought of several things I wanted to write about, deep shit like Truth, and Literature, and the Live Music scene in Hong Kong. That is just all going to have to wait though. And why are you being spared these ramblings? Well, because I am leaving town for Chinese New Year… Oh, where am I going you ask? That would be Burma, or as my passport visa indicates, Union of Myanmar.

There are many reasons why this trip has particular significance to me. Some have to do with the politics of Burma, officially renamed Myanmar in 1989 by the military junta, a country currently holding more than 2,000 political prisoners. And the jailed democratic leader Aung San Suu Kyi has asked that foreigners not travel to the state while it is under military control, so a real effort to consider an itinerary that avoids government-backed activities has been made. Another reason this trip is of particular importance to me is that my aunt Nancy and I am traveling together, and Nancy is the one who got me traveling by taking me out of school when I was eight years old to cross the US via Amtrak and then head off to Europe for a month. [When I was six, Nancy had said that when I turned eight that she would take me on a trip anywhere I wanted to go… so where did I want to go? I told her LA. She said she would pick the place. Good for both of us that she overrode my rather limited six year old world view and selected NYC, London, Rotterdam and Amsterdam.]

So, today we head off to places really totally unknown… trying to arrange things via the internet in Burma has been very very very challenging, so we are mostly just sort of going for it… We will be in Rangoon (Yangon), Mandalay and Bagan.

Thirty years later, A & N ride again.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming full circle…

  1. Clare A was W says:

    happy and safe travels A and N. It’s a fantastic thing you are doing this together

  2. Amy says:

    I can’t wait to hear how it all was!!

Leave a Reply

