Umm, yeah. I did that.

“The answer is never the answer. What’s really interesting is the mystery. If you seek the mystery instead of the answer, you’ll always be seeking. I’ve never seen anybody really find the answer — they think they have, so they stop thinking. But the job is to seek mystery, evoke mystery, plant a garden in which strange plants grow and mysteries bloom. The need for mystery is greater than the need for an answer.”
~ Ken Kesey

One year ago I spent nearly US$1,000 on a plane ticket to fly home for a weekend to meet someone. Just for the weekend. On a whim. It was thrillingly spontaneous and totally out of character.

Going to San Francisco for the weekend – how debonair: how laden with flair.

It turned out to be a life changing experience.

One year later, I am poised on the brink of amazing things and the year behind me has been filled with experiences that, on a brief mental cataloguing, are totally amazing: Burning Man, Home, Vietnam, Bali, Japan, Thailand, Burma, Photography, Writing, Family, Birthdays, Transitions, Festivals, New Friends, Old Friends, Surprises. A review of what has become of my life seems a healthy reminder of what lies ahead.

My flight left Hong Kong at 2:10 p.m. and I landed in San Francisco at 11:35 a.m. on April 10th, 2009.

[He never showed up.]

But I have arrived.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Chasing the Life I was Supposed to Want, Life, true stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Umm, yeah. I did that.

  1. missannakay says:

    i remember you telling me about this.

    time flies doesn’t it?

    i’m excited for the future, for both of us!

  2. Will says:

    “Women might be able to fake orgasms, but men can fake whole relationships.” Sharon Stone

  3. Matt says:

    Sorry we haven’t been able to make a connection. By the way … I ABSOLUTELY APROVE.

  4. Pingback: My own comedy of errors. And this shit is true. Seriously. « No, THIS is how you do it…

  5. Pingback: Well, then; my work (t)here is done. | No, THIS is how you do it…

Leave a Reply

