So, what did you get up to this weekend?

I thought you’d never ask.

There are times when looking at one’s life, you kind of go – Damn. I know my friends and parents and stuff are alway trying to remind me how interesting (for lack of a more inclusive adjective) my life is, and I generally agree without a lot of thought to it. But then there come little blips on the space-time continuum that force me to really look in on myself from a more external perspective and on those occasions… I gotta say: Day-Um.

This weekend was one of those times when I look around and am basically amazed at the circumstances I have found myself in. [And no, I do not mean this in the way of “The Hangover” (though that has happened) or some out-of-body freakery (has not happened to my knowledge.) I just mean, holy crap – a lot of cool shit just went down up in here.]

I have been so busy at work that I barely have time to think – or do the millions of other little things that have begun to pile up on the strategic and logistical side of my life. But in spite of that, I have made time for, well, just about everything I could. Balance is difficult for me in the best of times (figuratively speaking  – literally I am a champ) and to try to do all the things I want to do, along with all the things I have to do, coupled with all of the things I should do… It gets overwhelming. You know, a tough job.

But someone’s gotta do it.

This weekend had this to offer:

  • Friday night the Sevens madness began to fill the town. Infectious as it is, I found myself having drinks with a strange variety of individuals in town before heading back to Lamma. I did not know any of them previously and I would likely not recognize them in any other incarnation, unless lederhoson, loincloths and chainmail are somehow part of their standard operating procedure. Once on Lamma I stopped in at Cath’s to see who was about and found everyone in good form.
  • Saturday it was up early for work – knowing that the Sevens traffic would cause undo delays, I went via Central and got to take in the sights yet again. I had a non-stop work day that ended with a meet-up in Wan Chai to see Frenchie and connect with Barry as we were heading to see the Sam Mendes production of The Tempest. The play was cool, very interesting concept for staging and some very good acting. It is part of The Bridge Project that Mendes and Kevin Spacey put on. Christian Camargo who played Ariel was awesome among a field of solid performances. For the first time in my Hong Kong theater attending history, I did not hear one mobile phone go off. Unfortunately, the TB-like cacophony that stood in for the phones was equally hideous. I could not believe all of the hacking and hocking and coughing and snotting, especially at the quiet moments in the performance. Nice one. I suppose it must be to do with the air. Whatever. If you are going to see a play and you are in such a state, bring a freaking cough drop and quiet down.
  • After the show, we headed into the Day Two Sevens madness in Wan Chai. It was mental. We were on our way to RockSchool to see a local musician who Barry knows open for a Canadian indie-rocker named Ron Hawkins. We missed Kristina, which is a bummer because I really like her music. We did catch Ron. He looks like Bryan Adams and he can play a pretty good guitar. But there were a few technical difficulties and one of his songs had the lyric, “Well, I was young, dumb and full of cum…” at which point I was not sure about the whole thing. Still, I like supporting the local music scene and the people who put the shows on, so there I was.
  • After the show, we ventured back on to the streets… but, home was calling so we jumped in a cab and got the 11:30 ferry back to Lammado.
  • Sunday morning I was up early in an attempt to maintain some semblance of health and headed to yoga. Detox yoga in fact. How appropriate as the beginning of my day at the Sevens. Oh, and Kentucky lost, so the NCAA continues to be totally awesome too.
  • And then I headed to the stadium for the mayhem. Yet again, there was not one disappointing element of the entire experience. Eight hours of rugby and lager and craziness and sunshine and multinational humor and good times in the South Stands, and then to Lan Kwai Fong…. and DAMN. Made the 12:30 ferry back home and then crashed out, though must admit, yoga was not happening this morning as I had anticipated hoped.

Sometimes there are things that simply defy explanation, articulation, imagination… So, here are some pictures to help.

It was that mental. And now I just have that much more to do this week. BUt you know what? It’s cool. Sometimes you just have to… You know…

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Absurd Shit, Friends, Hong Kong, Life, Music, Silliness, sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

