Ching Ming Festival is B-A-N-A-N-A-S.

Today is the Ching Ming Festival in Hong Kong. With no ancestors buried in the local hills to offer my respects (or Nestea or fruit or Pringles or incense or flowers or cakes or prayer papers) to, for me this day means crazy crowds on Lamma (very good grave feng shui), the occasional hill fire, tons of trash gravesite remembrances blowing in the wind, and an additional day off right next to Easter.

I took an early ferry over to town to go to yoga this morning and saw the heaps of people waiting to board the ferry back to Lamma with a tiny sense of chagrin. I had arranged to meet a friend or lunch in Yung Shue Wan today and this did not bode well for a chill afternoon. True to form, on the 11:20 ferry back to the island I saw that they simply stopped letting people on (fortunately I was there early enough to get a ticket…) The boat was so packed that I stood the whole way back and marvelled at how many a people appear to have never actually been on a boat. Fascinating.

Then the village was upon me. And by upon me, I really actually mean UP ON me. No need to get aggravated. No need to get Type A about it. It is possible that these people have never before seen a dog. Or a restaurant. Or… you get the point. Just need to go with the flow. It is good practice to take all of this in and to realize that it makes no difference if I get there faster or not, and getting irritated is certainly pointless as those to whom I would have my irritation directed are totally oblivious rendering that a completely unsatisfying strategy. Could be time to get with the oblivion. It is slow but I think likely a very good preparation for the volumes of humanity I anticipate encountering when I arrive in India.

On May 1.

Karnataka.

Me.

Aum.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Hong Kong, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

