Epiphanaaaaay.

-(I don’t need it) – (I don’t want it) = I can take it.

Wow. There is an equation that could have served me well ages ago. I get sort of irritated in contemplating the concept that the root of all of life’s suffering stems from desire because really, a life without desire seems empty to me. But I might be starting to understand. The other night I realized that the freedom I gained in fully admitting that I was okay without something I thought I needed, and therefore wanted, was truly awesome. Extrapolating from that, it became clear that everything was totally cool exactly as it was.

Like that ambiguity? No? Well, it is staying because it is the only thing that can make my law of happiness universally applicable. Deriving happiness from what is rather than what should/could/would seems doable. I = happy.

It’s all good.

{photo from here.}

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Life, Philosophical Underpinnings, The Future, Things I Wish I Would Have Thought Of, true stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Epiphanaaaaay.

  1. carol barickman says:

    happiness = reality – expectations

Leave a Reply

