The Wonder Woman Debate

On 30 June I was dealt a big psychological blow. After more than five years I was leaving Hong Kong and heading home. To a home I thought I knew. I left the Fragrant Harbour at 14:40 local time. And at that point I know that Wonder Woman was still the bustier-wearing, go-go-boot-kicking, invisible-jet-flying, lasso-of-truth-weilding, hot bitch I have loved since I insisted on emulating her for Halloween as a four-year old with true visions of red, blue and gold greatness. [I was mildly disappointed that the stick-on gold stars did not adhere effectively enough to my light blue leotard to facilitate true boy chasing and pinching, but that was a technicality I knew I would be able to work out.] I wanted to go to her girls-only island and more than anything, I wanted that plane. I’d have given up the lasso and the bullet repelling wristbands for that invisible jet, I reckon.

When I disembarked from CX87o at SFO on 30 June at 11:20 PST my post-flight daze coupled with the need to pick up my little furry wonder cat, Matilda, dulled the horror of the announcement of the “new” look for Wonder Woman. When I recollected my consciousness and my cat I was devastated. What happened to the old adage, ‘if it ain’t broke…” I mean seriously: W.T.F.

She looks like she picked up Sheila E.’s wardrobe by mistake. I mean, not that there is anything wrong with Sheila E., but she is no crime fighting vixen of questionable sexual orientation. A bolero jacket? That is going to be helpful exactly how? And please, do not get me started about how a woman this bad-ass was not raised on Paradise Island by her mother, Queen Hippolyta, and her Amazon sisters. Raised by strangers after her whole world is destroyed and her people “slaughtered”? I’ll bite my tongue at the obviously implied misogyny there. Note to comic people: Not all heroes must be of the anti-hero, X-men, misfit mold. [Okay, this change is marginally less devastating than that horrible 1968 thing, but at least there was the excuse that our country was a complete mess at the time… Oh… wait…  ]

Granted, I struggle with change in general. But seriously, I find no validity in the new attire nor the new storyline. I wish I could be at ComicCon to engage in the debate more vociferously, if not effectively. Still, I know I will go see the movies and follow the dramz because that’s how I roll.

At least until I get my hands on that invisible jet.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Absurd Shit, Perception and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

