“So, tomorrow I’m going to jog to New York”

Back in the day when I was living in Del Mar and mostly attending UCSD as a reticent sophomore my roommate and still very dear friend E and I would, as many nearly 20-somethings were prone to, sit around and generate lists of all the things we were going to do to self-improve. Eat healthy. Exercise more. Drink less. Study X hours a day. Etcetera etcetera. Of course, these lists were always to commence “tomorrow” so we had one more day/night to do everything the list sought to combat.

Tomorrow.

It got to be such a joke that one day as we were listing E said, “Yeah, and don’t forget, we will jog to New York before breakfast.”

It is a fascinating element of the human condition.

I have New Years Resolution-ized before. I gave up chocolate once. Not that big a deal as I don’t really love choclate anyhow, and I made it the whole year. I gave up chips one year. Much harder. I remember being amazed at how much food I could eat at a Mexican restaurant when I was not having chips. I have not done a whole lot of other ones that are all that unique – save more money, do this or that, don’t do this or that. I am not sure if I will make resolutions this year or not.

I think I might just rather to continue to live fabulously, avoid self-flagelation when I make mistakes and celebrate successes. I already know this will be a year full of seeing friends I love and doing things I have not and smiling lots.

So for now, as I get ready to hit the town in San Francisco with T and D I wish you all a most wonderful 2011.

In keeping with the Chinese traditions I advocate cleaning up before the onset of the New Year (don’t sweep out the luck) but other than that, enjoy laaa! And if you have already decided you are going to jog to New York tomorrow, I hope it is a great run.

Happy New Year!!

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Friends, Holidays, The Future and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

