Here is how it goes when you are trying not to have it go that way:

I decided I did not want to spend money for the rest of June. This is both smart and highly irritating: it is the right thing to do, but it is pissing me off. And, as it would be, the minute I made the seemingly reasonable declaration, here came all the reasons why it was unreasonable. In the average day I do not really need to spend much money. I have all of my needs met. But here are the things that I instinctively considered spending money on in a single 24-hour period:

  • Laundry (service – not the machines)
  • Mani-pedi (I really am due)
  • A facial
  • Fresh pastry (as if I need this)
  • Beers at Zeitgeist in the sunshine (it *was* the Solstice after all)
  • Bottled water (see above)
  • Photo book project (finally finished, want to share with everyone)
  • Lunch (have food at home)
  • Aesthetician
  • New bag at Timbuk2
  • New Marc Jacobs perfume
  • Wine at Whole Foods (gift)
  • Airline ticket to LA
  • Drinks with someone I want to have drinks with
  • External hard drive for Mac Book (need this, for real)
  • Airline ticket to Reno
  • U-Haul rental (for emptying storage unit in Reno, a net savings in the end…)
  • Baseball tickets
  • New brand of sunscreen
  • Concert tickets (for three separate shows)
  • Food at the movies (I have free tickets)
  • New kitten (yes, I am serious)
  • Dinner (have food at home)
  • Drinks with someone I should not be having drinks with
  • Tickets to a loft party
  • Dinner for someone I should be treating

Seriously. This is ridiculous. I feel like I am part of a Twelve-step program.

[photo from Tobias Wong exhibit, SFMoMA]

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Absurd Shit, Chasing the Life I was Supposed to Want, Life, Lists, true stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here is how it goes when you are trying not to have it go that way:

  1. Ruth says:

    I LOVE that you’re doing this (and I’m not). No, seriously … it’s an awesome exercise for so many reasons. Something I’ve considered doing before… maybe I will….hmmm. It reminds me of the Australian campaign in which participants vow to spend no more than $2/day on food for one week. It’s described well here: http://www.livebelowtheline.com.au/about/
    Bravo!

  2. Pingback: Identity Crisis. | No, THIS is how you do it…

Leave a Reply

