I Love L.A., Part Four: “Look at these women!”

Look at that mountain
Look at those trees
Look at that bum over there, man
He’s down on his knees
Look at these women
There ain’t nothin’ like em nowhere

I met my aunt at the Vanilla Bake Shop in Santa Monica. Let me just tell you, if you are in the greater LA area and you need a cake – of any kind – go here. Epic. The staff, the cakes and the whole vibe is just perfect. I sat and had a coffee while getting (slightly illegal) text updates from my aunt about how there was absolutely no traffic on the 405. #Winning. When she got there our excitement levels started to rise because my aunt generally increases the excitement level whenever and where ever she might be, and the bakery peeps were getting excited too, (I had told them what we were up to. That earned me a free cupcake. #Winning) The cake weighed a ton, but we managed to heft a couple of bottles of champagne along with it…

Where were we headed you ask? Well, let me tell you.

Why Malibu? Well, my cousin was turning 21. And for this occasion she had asked to come out to the beach with her two best friends, and her awesome moms agreed. My/our Aunt was the surprise guest. And since things had lined up so nicely with timing we decided to up the shock value and have me pop in too. It was perfect. My only regret is that I do not have a picture of Char stroking out and falling onto the floor into a little ball of OMFG. I am so glad that I can see my family so much easier now, and this was such a fun(ny) little trick to pull on Miss Thang.

There were girls. And champers. And piñatas. And pasta. And cake. And Malibu. I mean really, look at these women – ain’t nothing like them no where.

To my cousin Char who has dreams of the big time, I wish all the best and worst of that world to her… rock stars, movie stars, sports stars… Girl, go get ’em.

To my aunties – all of ’em: Thank you for your continued and sustained awesomeness.

And just like that, I was in… and I was out.

 

 

All Hipstamatic Prints stolen from the birthday girl and her new white iPhone. xoxo
About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in California, Family, Life, Travel, true stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

