Sitcom Wisdom.

I don’t watch much TV. I have it on more than normal lately, but I am still not watching much of it; even in a totally compromised mental state I find most of it really tedious, I’d rather just look out the window.

In the midst of my spaced out staring the other day I flipped past a sitcom called “How I Met Your Mother.” I have never watched this program, but I saw Doogie Howser on it and so I stopped for a minute. These people were talking about being “on the hook” and how everyone has been both the hook-ee, and hooker. For lack of better terms. The episode is summarized thusly:

When a beautiful young woman “hooks” Ted (keeping Ted in reserve as backup while she pursues her own dream boyfriend), the gang discusses their own experiences both as the one who “hooks” and the one on the hook.

Huh.

On the hook. It got me thinking. Am I on the hook? Am I keeping anyone on the hook? And since being “off the hook” is cool, what does it all even mean?

It is certainly on my mind whether or not it’s on the hook. Or, in general, off the hook.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Absurd Shit, Life, Perception, Relationships, Things I Wish I Would Have Thought Of and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sitcom Wisdom.

  1. Pingback: Of cows, rules and realities. | No, THIS is how you do it…

Leave a Reply

