Newsbriefs….

A day (or so) in the life of… well, me.

I came across a funny Twitter post the other day from a favorite blogger of mine.

I’ve reached that pure stage of blogging where I don’t care about SEO, keywords, or even readers. I’m this close to just keeping a diary.

And I just had to laugh. Yep. Pretty much.

Last Thursday was The Great Shake Out in California. This was a statewide earthquake preparedness initiative that all public offices, institutions, etcetera… were supposed to participate in. This included drills, training, disaster kit making, etcetera… I had seen the fliers around and was a bit surprised that we were not having a drill at school – but no bother, we have had so many false alarms this year, who needs another?

So, I sat on the table in front of my 6th period Government class looking out at them as we discussed the differences of being a good leader and a good politician. Everyone seemed to have a lot to say on the matter. And then… we heard something unfamiliar and I looked out across the faces of these high school seniors and immediately realized that I may be better suited to be a politician that an actual leader. I was watching them as they were watching me and I have to agree with Miguel that it is a shame we were not filming because really, the only thing missing was a copy of My Pet Goat in my hands. That is how ridiculous I was.

Leave it to the heart of the California public education system – Berkeley – to provide the best hands on Shake Out possible. No hypotheticals here, we were shaking, pretty much on the epicenter of a 4.3 quake. Winning.

There was another one when I got home. It turns out that Max does not care for earthquakes. Poor little guy. Matil kept right on eating.

Last Saturday was the first night of the 25th Annual Bridge School Benefit Concert. I am thrilled to say I got to go with three amazing women I have known since my days at UCSD. The show was awesome and continued my run of excellent live music since my return to America, one of the true bonuses, I must say. Highlights of the show included:

  • Beck being a family guy
  • Meeting the hot guy who sang for Santana
  • Eddie Vedder and his ukulele
  • Mumford and Sons playing songs I could distinguish (unlike Coachella)
  • Dave Matthews making my girls all excited (#48 D? I am impressed.)
  • Arcade Fire… loud and in charge
  • Neil with them all

It was another great night – thank you D! And seriously, one of the best addictions I have – live music and cool people.

We are finishing up the first quarter at school this week. With a big old bang, I might add… We are right in the middle of Spirit Week. Apparently coinciding nicely with Halloween as everyone tells me I should be very afraid of the impending events. The scariest thing to me is that the decade of my high school glory days has become a dress up day. I completely empathize with how my mom felt back in the 80s when we were having 1960s/hippie day. Sheesh. Talk about recalling the worst a decade has to offer. I also now realize that the whole Foxxy Brown thing was way more 70s that 60s and tie-day is a pretty narrow view of your entire youth, mom. Sorry.

The Occupy Movement is carrying on, and I have to say, in it’s perseverance I think it gains strength. I am pleased to see people making a real effort to make a difference. Still, when I head towards the Haight for my Sunday yoga class I have to say, you little aggressive vagrants are not helping. Running up into people’s faces and yelling “Occupy!” as if you are trying to channel Heath Ledger’s performance as the Joker is not only counterproductive, it is unoriginal. If you cannot tell me explicitly why you are protesting, STFU: this is not some stupid excuse to justify your suspect habits. This is real. Let it be real.

Make it real.

Speaking of which, let us not forget the long overdue shout out to my New Zealand All Blacks on their run through the Rugby World Cup culminating with a victory over France on the 23rd…

And that is all the news that is fit to print.

For now.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Friends, Life, San Francisco, true stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

