Small Rant.

I am in a ranty mood. Here is a small reason why:

Walking to work this morning as I came out of the Bart station someone came up behind me and touched my shoulder. As I turned around, like as I was in the middle of turning, this person was saying, “Excuse me, but I could not help noticing that you are a really pretty girl.”

I looked at this person: nondescript, blonde, shortish, doughy, glasses. Close.Talker.

“What is your name?” He shoved.
“My name is I’m-late-for-work.” I replied trying to sound mostly matter of fact and not totally rude.
“What is your name? Tell me your name. Telling me your name is not going to shave off any time for you getting to work.”
“I do not want to tell you my name.”
“Tell me your name.”
“No.”

During this probably 45 second exchange we were standing on a curb waiting for the light to change. There were people all around us, and I was clearly bothered and he refused to stop. As I saw the light go yellow in the opposite direction I started to cross early. He did not follow me but glared at me as I walked away.

Probably just a harmless annoyance, but who the fuck does this person think he is? I mean seriously, a woman would NEVER do that kind of shit to a man.

And what part of ‘No’ was this individual not understanding? God damn that was annoying. Good morning Berkeley.

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in Absurd Shit, California, true stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

