From November 4, 2008 to November 6, 2012….

River going to take me, sing sweet and sleepy,
Sing me sweet and sleepy all the way back home.
It’s a far gone lullaby, sung many years ago.
Mama, mama many worlds I’ve come since I first left home.

Goin’ home, goin’ home, by the riverside I will rest my bones,
Listen to the river sing sweet songs, to rock my soul.

What a difference four years, and 15,000 miles can make. When Barack Obama won the presidency in 2008 I was more proud to be an American than I had ever been before… it was so wonderful to finally be the country that was truly admired, rather than the one that had indignantly demanded it for the previous eight years.

I was hopeful and excited. exuberant even.

Four years later, the reality I knew was inevitable has set in. Like the new boyfriend in which you see no wrong, Obama has become the solid guy who seems less exciting. Less like he did at first. It would be easy to say, “I can find someone better.”

But I think that something better is not out there right now. I think that Obama, while relatively steady on his course, did let some people down. He is a human. Still he remains so much better in every way: socially, economically, intellectually, internationally, than the alternative.

And, he is HUMAN.

Please vote. Vote today for all the young women who deserve the right to make their own personal choices. Vote for all the young people who deserve an education. Vote today for all the immigrants that have made our nation great. Vote today for citizenship… as our founding fathers meant it.

“If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what never was and never will be.” ~ Thomas Jefferson

 

About Amanda

I am repatriating expatriate trying to work it all out. Well, to work some of it out anyhow. I am writing here for sanity, focus and general over-sharing.
This entry was posted in California, Life, Politics, The Future, true stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From November 4, 2008 to November 6, 2012….

  1. Kelly says:

    You should have seen the hordes gathered around the TV at the Star Ferry terminal this morning Amanda. When the news reported it was “neck and neck” I said, “Oh, for God’s sake!” and a woman from Romania looked at me, stricken, and said, “Not bad news?!?” Everybody I know is backing the old boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

